Go back through history for an evening and unravel all the mysteries of the creation of the Canal du Midi! An unusual and friendly moment to share with the family.

Once upon a time…

We are 1667. Pierre Paul Riquet, then tax collector in the service of Louix XIV, submits the crazy idea of ​​putting back on the table a wildly ambitious project, dating from Antiquity: connecting the Mediterranean and the Atlantic without going through the dangerous Strait of Gibraltar.

But where to find the water? And how to finance this expensive project? What madness !

This is how your History evening will start, at theNegra lock in Montesquieu-Lauragais. Guided by a larger-than-life Pierre-Paul Riquet, you will learn to love the character and admire the great project of his life.

The events will scroll at the rhythm of your steps. You will meet in turn the key figures of Pierre-Paul Riquet's project and the Great History of the Canal du Midi. Madame Riquet, boatmen, and Monsieur Le Marquis de Vauban in person will gratify you with their presence!

A great moment of conviviality

As you have understood, these two costume parties will be a great opportunity to pay tribute to the Canal du Midi and its creator with comedy and bursts of laughter.

In their costumes, the tour guides from the Tourist Office will tell you about the construction of the Canal du Midi through many anecdotes, with gaiety and lightness, but also with respect for History.

Information:

Visit on September 9 at 19:00 p.m.


See you at theNegra lock in Montesquieu-Lauragais
Duration 1h30
Price : € 6 / adult; € 4 / child from 6 to 15 years old; Free for children under 6

Registration required :

Information & registration:

A festive summer!

Throughout the summer, your Tourist Office has many surprises in store for you.

Remontez le cours de l’histoire le temps d’une soirée et percez tous les mystères de la création du Canal du Midi ! Un moment insolite et convivial à partager en famille.

Il était une fois…

Nous sommes en 1667. Pierre-Paul Riquet, alors percepteur des impôts au service de Louix XIV, soumet l’idée folle de remettre sur la table un projet follement ambitieux, datant de l’Antiquité : relier la Méditerranée et l’Atlantique sans passer par le dangereux détroit de Gibraltar.

Mais où trouver l’eau ? Et comment financer ce projet si cher ? Quelle folie !

C’est ainsi que démarrera votre soirée Historique, à l’écluse de Négra à Montesquieu-Lauragais. Guidés par un Pierre-Paul Riquet plus vrai que nature, vous apprendrez à aimer le personnage et à admirer le grand projet de sa vie.

Les évènements défileront au rythme de vos pas. Vous rencontrerez à tour de rôle les personnages marquants du projet de Pierre-Paul Riquet et de la Grande Histoire du canal du Midi. Madame Riquet, des bateliers, et Monsieur Le Marquis de Vauban en personne vous gratifieront de leur présence !

Un grand moment de convivialité

Vous l’avez bien compris, ces deux soirées costumées seront une belle occasion de rendre hommage au canal du Midi et à son créateur par de la comédie et des éclats de rires.

Sous leurs costumes, les guides conférenciers de l’Office de Tourisme vous narreront la construction du canal du Midi à travers moultes anecdotes, avec gaieté et légèreté, mais aussi dans le respect de l’Histoire.

Informations :

Prochaines visites à l’été 2023