Perched on a hill, around a steeple that can be seen from afar, Caraman is a town that has kept its “village spirit”. Its dynamic network of associations, its charming market and its small shops energize its center and appeal to curious minds. Nearby, the white elm lake offers a natural parenthesis and a very pleasant cool corner in summer.

A medieval past

This village which once bore the name of "Carmain" is mentioned in the texts from beginning of the XNUMXth century. As in the whole of Lauragais, this seigniory was then dominated by the counts of Laurac who owed their immense fortune to the salt trade. This commodity, very precious at the time, passed through the Lauragais to Baziège from Narbonne.

The village of Carmaing was built around a castle (partly destroyed in 1622), located on the highest part of the town.

In 1206, the village, acquired from the cathar cause, hosted Saint-Dominique for eight days. The latter had come to discuss with the many heretics to try to bring them back to the Catholic faith, but in vain. In 1217, the Lord of Carmaing even took up arms alongside the Count of Toulouse to fight against Simon de Montfort, the leader of the crusade!

A little later, the seigniory of Caraman was bought by the Count of Toulouse and passed into the hands of different powers, including Jeanne de Foix at the end of the XNUMXth century.

The Wars of Religion

The county of Caraman was created in 1484. Its economy was then based on cereal cultivation, livestock, vines and of course, the cake. During the XNUMXth century, part of the county was won over by the ideas of the Protestant Reformation. In 1570, the village was stormed by the troops of Admiral de Coligny who put all the inhabitants to the sword and burned all the houses. It was then that a period of troubles and civil wars who ransacked the Lauragais. Caraman was sometimes in the hands of Protestants, sometimes in those of Catholics, which caused much misfortune and destruction.

Caraman in the time of Riquet

The county was sold in 1670 to the creator of the canal du midi, Pierre Paul Riquet and remained in this family until the French Revolution. At that time, the county included 16 communities (including Loubens, Albiac, Caragoudes…) and 6000 inhabitants.

White Orme Lake

This 5-hectare lake, located just 1,5 km from the village, is a real haven of peace! It is possible to reach it by car or on foot by taking a section of the hike “The castrum of Caraman”.
Walkers appreciate the walk around the lake (1,5km), the fishermen have different equipped areas and lovers of bathing can enjoy, in the summer season, a beautiful 80m long beach (paid access) and inflatable gamesAqua Park 31.

A lively and colorful market

Every Thursday morning one of the most pleasant markets in the Lauragais takes place in the town centre. The ideal place to discover delicious local and artisanal products.

Did you know?

The old ditches of the city, today occupied by the boulevards, were dominated by the walkway, also called “lices”. The defense of the city was organized here from the XNUMXth century, jousting and tournaments, as well as cattle fairs. Depending on the slope of the terrain, these ditches were either dry or filled with water.
One of these spaces still exists under the name of “passage of the servants”.

A rich cultural and associative life

Thanks to a beautiful program, the Antoine de Saint-Exupéry Cultural Center hosts renowned shows and artists all year round. Manga culture is well represented with the annual fair Caramanga in spring.
For lovers of walks, the association Caraman Hikes Leisure is essential in the sector!

Useful information

  • Church : open every day
  • Weekly market : Thursday morning from 8:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
  • Bathing : white elm lake. Supervised beach in summer (entrance: €2), Aqua Park 31