This small village is an essential step in your discovery of Lauragais. Let yourself be caught up in History!
Montgeard is a country house founded in 1317 by the King of France Philippe V le Long, in the forest of Nailloux. With this foundation he asserted his authority in the Lauragais hills, cradle of Catharism and hostile to the Catholic Church. Montgeard is today a sleepy little village on a hill. But it had its heyday in the 1555th century. Indeed, formerly, wealthy merchants lived in Montgeard: simple landowners, they had become important figures thanks to the cultivation of pastel, a dye plant with which we could dye clothes blue. Discover the magnificent XNUMXth century church, entirely financed by the village pastelier merchants as well as the "castle", a splendid private mansion dating from XNUMX. The village has several departures for hikes towards the nearby Lac de la Thésauque. groups, on request, all year round.
- Aire de pique-nique
- Audio guide
- Groups of 12 to 60 people welcome